Source Code For lbxextract

Details about file formats, structure and contents in the original Master of Magic
madtigger

Source Code For lbxextract

Post by madtigger »

Hello,

First off, I want to compliment you on your work. I am a fellow programmer, and you have done a fair bit of work here working through these old files. Kudos.

I was wondering if you might consider sharing the source code for your lbxextract utility. I am working on some MoM struff, and I was hoping to port the utiltiy to .net and add some additional options (for example, you extract the unit animations into individual files. I'd like to keep them on their animation sheets for easier management). I'd be more than happy to give you the full source of the port, if you would like it. I'm big on the whole open source thing.

Your midi utility doesn't convert all of the .xni files properly. I have good .midi versions of all the midi files that were packed in the music .lbx, want a copy of them?

Thanks!
Lucern

Re: Source Code For lbxextract

Post by Lucern »

Hey madtigger,

As a fan of all things MoM, I have to ask: what kind of project are you working on?
madtigger

Post by madtigger »

I am building client/server versions of MoM and Moo2. Using .NET and XNA, a lot of the infrastructure issues are resolved for you, and it is pretty easy to create a server that can host dozens of player (or games) at once. The server stuff is pretty easy, the only thing that is difficult (or rather time-consuming) is wiring up the client to behave EXACTLY like the originals and use all the graphics.