[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4752: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3887)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4754: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3887)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4755: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3887)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4756: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3887)
Master of Magic - Implode's Multiplayer Edition • View topic - didn't notice to-do that need done

didn't notice to-do that need done

Place to report bugs in MoM IME and suggest ideas for enhancements (please read rules before posting)

didn't notice to-do that need done

Postby stew » Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:07 am

stew
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:54 pm

Version 9.1

Postby Coyote » Thu May 31, 2007 12:25 pm

Version 9.1

Adding on the list of to-do. I double checked it against your list of to-do, and didn't see them listed. None major, no bugs spotted (yet).

Buildings queues
- when selecting what to build, add unit cost to text description
(you might be waiting on this until you incorporate reduction costs for units, but one could at least get the building costs in)
- add text displaying how many turns until completion

Map generation
- incorrect map image for when river meets ocean. An inlet should be visible. This could be because the ocean square was unexplored.
- (annoyance) looking over the ocean, land appears to be a stone's throw away because its "unexplored".

Menu bars
- "Game" bar doesn't do anything yet - which means no save routines, or nice way to exit game

Food/Gold
- Shows negative gold production even though enough surplus food is being generated to create a "net" gold surplus. The treasury seemed to be calculating correctly adding the correct amount of new gold per turn.
Coyote
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:09 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postby Implode » Fri Jun 01, 2007 12:47 am

1) UI text - yes that's not been written yet
2) Yeah its a pain in the butt to do - but thanks for reminding me, I've made sure its on the to do list
3) Diagonal scrolling works on all 4 corners of the map if you get the cursor in the right place. I'll add scroll speed to the to do list, this is a nice idea.
4) Right click to centre map - yes that's not been written yet

5) screen show units on top of cities
I kind of like it, although it does of course make it hard to see there's a city underneath. What I'd like is like to do is like the old civilization games which showed a shield next to the city showing the number of units inside... which is a bit of work, hence why I've not done it yet!

6) units with movement of 1 avoid mountains
Erk, yeah, I know... but taking that into account in the movement routine is VERY difficult. The original MoM actually worked exactly the same way.

7) when selecting what to build, add unit cost to text description
I just tried it - units DO dislay their cost but buildings DON'T. They're supposed to, I'll look into fixing this.

8 ) incorrect map image for when river meets ocean. An inlet should be visible. This could be because the ocean square was unexplored.
Precisely - that's how its supposed to work. I take it it changed to the correct tile when you'd explored more and could see the ocean tile?

9) looking over the ocean, land appears to be a stone's throw away because its "unexplored"
Yes... I'd rather it defaulted to Ocean... I'll change it if I can figure out how

10) "Game" bar doesn't do anything yet - yes that's not been written yet (and won't be for a while)

11) Shows negative gold production even though enough surplus food is being generated to create a "net" gold surplus
MoM IME doesn't show the gold you get from selling surplus food in your +/- gold per turn, its on the list of differences from the original MoM. To fix it would require me hard coding in the resource IDs which I'm really loathed to do so its unlikely I'll ever change this... I'm hoping everyone will just get used to it. (I'm amazed people actually play with producing surplus rations... I always set my farmers every turn to be producing at most +2 rations).

Implode.
User avatar
Implode
Site Admin
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Re: didn't notice to-do that need done

Postby klausbreuer » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:25 pm

User avatar
klausbreuer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:38 am

Re: didn't notice to-do that need done

Postby Korenn » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:03 am

indeed. A* where you limit the maximum cost of the tile to the movement speed of the unit should do it.
Korenn
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:07 pm

Re: didn't notice to-do that need done

Postby klausbreuer » Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:32 pm

Actually, you can build a 2D-value grid using the A* algorithm for each unit wanting to move to a given destination. This way, you only have to recalc that array if the surroundings change:

* More map found
* Map tile on our route changed
* Enemy unit on route
* Enemy city placed on route
* ...etc

The value of each tile would simply be a score: how much do I want to use this tile? Basics are a better score for tiles easier to cross. You can advance this by modifying the score by enemy influence on the tile.

Implode, if you want I could email you the A* procedure from my TD game. I'd appreciate being able to help in any way.

Ciao,
Klaus
User avatar
klausbreuer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:38 am

Re: didn't notice to-do that need done

Postby Virm » Tue Oct 21, 2008 3:50 pm

Meaning no offense, but isn't an A* heuristic map going to get really expensive in terms of memory usage? After all, in a small game with only a couple players, we're still talking about needing to work this for hundreds of units, and my own experience tells me that a unit will encounter something previously unseen (be it new landscape or an enemy unit stack) about once every 3 or 4 turns on average. I'd think that that would add up in a hurry when we start adding more players.

Then again, I'm tired at the moment, so I could be thinking in the wrong order of magnitude.
Virm
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:54 pm

Re: didn't notice to-do that need done

Postby klausbreuer » Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:21 am

Well, not really. What's the full size of the map? 80x60? An A* byte array would take up 4800 Bytes per Stack of units/lone unit wanting to move.
And the array would be smaller anyway, as you'd limit it to the accessible parts - i.e. my spearmen are only interested in walking this island, not the entire world. On top of that, units with the same target could share the array.

But you're right: let it depend on how often things change - if it *is* every three turns, we don't need an array, we simply recalc every time. It goes quite quickly, after all.

(Don't worry, it's hard to offend me) :wink:
User avatar
klausbreuer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:38 am


Return to Bug reports and ideas for enhancements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron