Polish translation

Discussions about creating additional language XML files to translate the MoM IME client into other languages

Polish translation

Postby Nehan » Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:19 am

Hello there MoM lovers!

I'd be delighted if I could translate MoM into my language, there is only one problem - I'm not into programming/file change/whatever is required to do it, so I'd be grateful if you could explain what needs to be done.
Cheers
N.
Warsaw isn't a kind of a battle saw. It's the capital of Poland.
Nehan
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Polish translation

Postby Implode » Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:16 am

I can point you in the right direction for how to do it sure. However I'm assuming you don't have a Polish copy of the original MoM... for the French and German translations I was able to extract a lot out from the original MoM files for those languages, which greatly reduced how much had to be translated by hand. If there's no Polish original MoM then you're talking about translating *everything* by hand, all the unit names, all the buiding names, all the spell names, all the spell descriptions... so that would be great, there'll just be a lot to do.

Anyway drop me a note if you're interested, I'll try to put together some instructions on how to use the editor.

Thanks!

Implode.
User avatar
Implode
Site Admin
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Re: Polish translation

Postby Nehan » Mon Jun 09, 2008 1:09 pm

There was no polish translation, I can tell. And I know very well the work that is to do with all the names, descriptions etc.
I found a way to translate (well, sort of), copied the english xml file to a word editor and huzzah - but it seems that there's an editor.
oh, one thing first - will polish letters (ąćęńóśżź) work, and if not, what is required to alter it?
Warsaw isn't a kind of a battle saw. It's the capital of Poland.
Nehan
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Polish translation

Postby Implode » Mon Jun 09, 2008 9:01 pm

Nehan wrote:but it seems that there's an editor.

Yes, download it from the same page. There's 3 editors but you only need the language one. I'm hoping its pretty clear how to use it, but let me know if you have any trouble.

Nehan wrote:oh, one thing first - will polish letters (ąćęńóśżź) work, and if not, what is required to alter it?
They *should* work yes (on lowercase letters at least... there's no accents on the uppercase letters). I expanded all the MoM fonts up to 256 characters and drew on all the accents so they should work.

However this is one of the things you definitely need the proper editor for. The encoding for some of the letters is a bit weird - the editor will get it right - typing those letters into a regular text editor will either give you garbage or possibly it will make the file refuse to load altogether.
User avatar
Implode
Site Admin
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Re: Polish translation

Postby Nehan » Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:26 pm

Some things that came up:
1) polish fonts aren't working (except for ó... but it works in most font settings)
2. I have a problem with races' names. The first (singular) is for choosing races at the start of game, *and* for cities, racial units (lizardman spearmen etc.). Unfortunately, in polish it doesn't work (the words are changed a bit). So, is there a possibility to have a *third* spelling option? And if yes, how to add it?
3 (close to 2.) is there an option to swap race name and unit name? (Lizardmen spearmen->spearmen lizardmen; same as above, in polish they should be swapped).
The translation is now about 60% finished, with spells at 25% and the rest almost completed.
Warsaw isn't a kind of a battle saw. It's the capital of Poland.
Nehan
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Polish translation

Postby Implode » Sat Jun 14, 2008 2:16 pm

Nehan wrote:The translation is now about 60% finished, with spells at 25% and the rest almost completed.
Wow, sounds like you're doing really well!

Nehan wrote:Polish fonts aren't working (except for ó... but it works in most font settings)
Send me the Polish file and let me know which screens it is and I'll see if there's anything I can do on this.

Nehan wrote:I have a problem with races' names. The first (singular) is for choosing races at the start of game, *and* for cities, racial units (lizardman spearmen etc.). Unfortunately, in polish it doesn't work (the words are changed a bit). So, is there a possibility to have a *third* spelling option? And if yes, how to add it?
In the current version, no, I'll actually have to change the code to accept a 3rd name. However that's easy enough to add for 0.9.4. So how do you need it, so:
Select race buttons at start of game - Singular race name
Heading on help text page about each race (right click the race selection buttons) - Plural race name
City screen - Third race name?
Unit names (e.g. Lizardmen Spearmen) - Third race name?

Nehan wrote:3 (close to 2.) is there an option to swap race name and unit name? (Lizardmen spearmen->spearmen lizardmen; same as above, in polish they should be swapped).
Again, not in the current version, its currently fixed as <PREFIX> <RACENAME> <UNITNAME> (where Prefix = 'a' or 'an' for things like 'a Demon Lord', which is used in places like 'You have found a monster lair, scouts report seeing a Demon Lord') but I can add that easily enough for 0.9.4.

Instead of having fields controlling whether to include the race in the name or not, and whether to flip the race/unit name around, I think I'll make it more generic so there's two fields with variables in them (similar to how the e.g. production calculation language settings are), one for the unit name without the 'a' or 'an' prefix, so for the English file this might say "SINGULAR_RACE_NAME Spearmen" or just "Demon Lord", but in the Polish file you could put "Spearmen THIRD_RACE_NAME" and another for including the 'a' or 'an' so in the English file this might say "a Demon Lord". That way you could do pretty much whatever you need to with it.

Let me know which to use on the city screen (singular race name, or third race name) and I'll get this included in 0.9.4.

Thanks!
User avatar
Implode
Site Admin
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Re: Polish translation

Postby Nehan » Sat Jun 14, 2008 2:30 pm

thanks for quick reply,

Select race buttons at start of game - Singular race name
Heading on help text page about each race (right click the race selection buttons) - Plural race name
City screen - Third race name?
Unit names (e.g. Lizardmen Spearmen) - Third race name?

the third race name would be used only for unit names, as in this case name is used as a adjective. City screen - plural.

N.
Warsaw isn't a kind of a battle saw. It's the capital of Poland.
Nehan
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Polish translation

Postby Nehan » Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:23 pm

I had a short break from the translation, but i'm back afoot now, and here are some notes:
last entry: nevermind; I've found a way to get around the mess with race names. It's now fully ok (or so I hope)
still, there is another, similar case: MAGIC_REALM names - in this case, a second spelling is a must, as I found no way to do anything myself.
Send me the Polish file and let me know which screens it is and I'll see if there's anything I can do on this.

well, I haven't found a screen with the correct letters! still, I'm sending the file:
http://rapidshare.com/files/126359441/P ... e.xml.html
as it was easier than sending in an e-mail :)
N.
Warsaw isn't a kind of a battle saw. It's the capital of Poland.
Nehan
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Polish translation

Postby Implode » Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:51 am

Nehan wrote:well, I haven't found a screen with the correct letters!
Well, I meant send me a screen with the wrong letters... but now you've actually sent the file and I had a look at how its working, I see that none of the screens display the text right. I had a fiddle around with it in the debugger to see what was going on and found a key point in the code where unicode characters (after 255) were being stripped out, so I've fixed that much.

However it doesn't really help... since each of the fonts only includes 255 characters, and the text drawing routines only handle 255 characters, so that's still all that's going to get drawn. To fix it properly I'll have to draw all the additional characters and update the text output routines too... so I will definitely get it fixed, but it might take a while. I don't want to try to include it in 0.9.4 since the Java conversion of the server is taking a long time already.
User avatar
Implode
Site Admin
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Re: Polish translation

Postby Nehan » Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:52 pm

no problem, just keep up the good work with the game!

I just found a small error in a spell description, specifically, wall of fire. Short description says that there's a S4 attack, while help text - S5. Checked in the strategy guide - S5 is the right one.
N.
Warsaw isn't a kind of a battle saw. It's the capital of Poland.
Nehan
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Polish translation

Postby PatentMC » Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:42 am

Hello !!! I'm also a Master of Magic maniac from Poland. I could help with the translations although I see that somebody is already doin it, but if you need some help or a second opinion I will be glad to help :)

Also i can help in design area, balncing the game etc. I have some knowledge and experience in that matter as i wrok in computer games branch as a level/game designer.
PatentMC
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:23 am

Re: Polish translation

Postby Nehan » Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:23 pm

I was away for a while, and so was my translation. getting back to it slowly.
Patent - I could send you the polish file.
Warsaw isn't a kind of a battle saw. It's the capital of Poland.
Nehan
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:06 am


Return to Language files / Translations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron