repackaging?

Details about file formats, structure and contents in the original Master of Magic
rinnaldo

repackaging?

Post by rinnaldo »

I apologize if this is a stupid question, but I'm new to this.

Once I've extracted and edited some portions of an lbx file, how do I repackage them back into that file, so that the game can use my changes?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Rinnaldo
Implode
Site Admin

Post by Implode »

Sorry I've never had a need to repack LBX files so I've never written a tool to do it. There may be one out there that someone else has written... I've never looked for one though :)

Most guides that tell you about how to modify the game stats (changing spell costs, unit stats and such) just tell you the hex address directly in the LBX file, i.e. you edit the LBX file directly rather than extracting, modifying and then repacking.

Out of interest, what files are you trying to edit? :)

Implode.
rinnaldo

Post by rinnaldo »

Well, I thought I might edit some graphics files to start with and see how it went. After unpacking Figure1.lbx, however, I see that it's made of like 480 pieces... So, that seems less fun, now. Maybe if there were a way to extract it all to one bmp file...

If it were relatively simple, I also thought I might try to write a couple new spells; that sort of thing.

Here's another question for ya: After unpacking some lbx files (copies in a separate folder), I tried to save a bmp file as Figures1.lbx to see if the game could read it. It couldn't and crashed it, as I expected. I changed it back. Later on, I tried playing the game as normal and it wouldn't start due to the "You must have 3700 kb" error, which I'd never gotten on this computer before (though I had on another one). Wtf?