Do you need a game Designer?

Anything else to do with MoM IME
larienna

Do you need a game Designer?

Post by larienna »

I am a hobby board game designer. My web site here:

http://ariel.bdeb.qc.ca/~ericp/cgi-bin/ ... /index.php

... and an ex-computer programmer. I do not want to do any coding but I know the logic behind it (the latest thing I coded is C++ with allegro)

I am a great fan of Master of Magic/Orion and I even tried making my own board game version which is a bit complex because of the amount of information I need to simplify to make it playable as a board game.

I know that the original game had a few problems in it's design and it could be interesting to make some design changes (for example: Some spells are too powerfull, while some others are almost innefective).

Unfortunately the source code of the video game was never realeased, so to apply these changes I could only hope for a remake of the game.

From what I have seen, there is a game editor that allows to change the parameters of the game. It is possible that with only this, I would be able to do a lot. It depends how flexible is the game. I remember making changes in civilisation 3 by only changing the parameters of the game and it seemed to work great.

So If the only thing I would need to do is play with an editor that would be great for me.

I have written some documents in the past about what I wanted to change, I could look back again at it.

Any comments are welcomed.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everybody want's a master of magic remake and many people have failed. Of course, it is a huge amount of work, but I think the fact that this remake use the original game graphics, it reduces a lot the work require to finish the remake.